Trapped?


Have you ever experienced someone trying to make you be their friend? I suppose we all have. In fact, some of us may have been the one trying to make the other comply.


I witnessed this between 2 boys the other day. The one doing the making had the other one trapped in the seat & wouldn’t let him out. Unfortunately for one boy this solicitation of friendship was a failed attempt. The other boy clearly was not interested. I’ve seen this between these 2 boys on more than 1 occasion. I believe maybe they could be friends, but the boy who wants to be friends so badly is going about it the wrong way. By trapping the other boy & forcing him to be his friend, he’s really running him off. Who knows. I do know that I’ve had that feeling of being trapped before & reacted just as the trapped boy did, I wanted out as quickly as I could get out!

There’s also those friendships (I use the term loosely) where only one side of the party is making attempts at staying connected. Sometimes, it takes the one making the attempts a little time to accept & realize there’s nothing happening…no connecting. It’s hard to move on, but move on we must.

It’s the same where family is concerned, I believe.

My heart was sad for both boys…the one who was feeling trapped & the one who so desperately wanted a friend. Unfortunate isn’t it?


Have you experienced one or both of these situations? I’d love to hear about it.


“A man of many companions may come to ruin,
but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

Proverbs 18:24
Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

4 thoughts on “Trapped?”

  1. I hate to admit it but I was the “trapper”. When I became a Christian I had to leave many of my so called friends. I found it very difficult to make new friends that had my same new beleifs. When I finally did make friends with this one lady I found that after about two years she stopped wanting to be around me. She never really said why but I came to realize that I had smothered her way too much. I think she felt “trapped”. Needless to say it didn't take me long to realize what I had done and I have been very carful not to do that again. It is hard to make friends and even harder to make good ones. Ones that will be there no matter what and who aren't afraid to tell you the truth and let you tell them. I would like to have a lot more friends but I am glad that the ones I do have are ones that are godly and help keep me accountable.

    Like

  2. I have been on both sides of this fence before (more on the “trapped one” side). But when I was the “trapper” I was like you, Tammy…I didn't realize I was making the other person feel that way…I am very careful now, as well.
    Thanks for the comments!

    Like

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

