Courty Shell


I don’t feel old enough to be the mother of an adult. Twenty-one. Unbelievable. Born on a Wednesday. A college student, taking a semester off. Today is her birthday. Courtney.

She’s one of my closest friends. She is so smart. Funny. Competitive. A procrastinator, like her mother, Courtney is a dreamer. She is a boat load of information. In fact, her name means ‘desire to attain knowledge’. So true about her. Or as she would say, “true that.”

She’s a quick learner. Walked early. Potty trained early. She started reading “chapter books” early too. If you couldn’t find her, you knew she was curled up somewhere with her latest book completely engrossed in it. One of my favorite memories of her childhood is her imaginary friend who she called “Eek.” Maybe the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree…I too had an imaginary friend! We still lovingly tease her about “Eek.”

I cried all the way home on her first day of Kindergarten. Why? Because I forgot to tell her what her teacher’s name was! Well {sniff} she needed that information!

She had blonder hair then than she does now…you knew when it was going to rain…it would kink up in bouncy curls! Skin & bones…she was so picky with food…still is picky! Another thing we give her a hard time about (but really we love it because it makes her who she is) is her love of mustard! To her, mustard will make just about anything tolerable enough to eat, especially meat!

Getting in the passenger seat when she first started driving was very scary for me, but we managed, I wasn’t the best teacher…too many bad habits myself! Just a week before she left for Dallas she bought a bright yellow V DUB Beetle(such a happy cute car). The only thing was…it was a stick shift…which she had never driven! Dad (Chris) taught her in that week before we sent her off. It was such a blessing to have him teach her…he was so patient. I’m so blessed by their love for one another! I wish we would have had him the first time we struggled through learning to drive! During that week we gave her car the nickname “Lemon Shake Up” She didn’t like that too much…it embarrassed her to tears every time she killed it! She now calls her car “Lilly.” I cried the entire day when she left for Dallas. Now I feel like Courntey has much more driving experience than I do…driving her lil’ ole’ self all the way to Dallas for school…not just once either! And driving in that city everyday! Yep, she’s a grown up! Happy Birthday, Courty Shell!!

Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

2 thoughts on “Courty Shell”

  1. Sending very happy birthday wishes your way!
    Adorable bug (what we call them here in the west:))
    Have a wonderful day.
    Hope you are getting sunshine… we are getting snow. Yippee 😦

    Like

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

