Kate

Today is Kate’s birthday. She turns 18. Not many people call her Kate, like I do. She goes by Katie. I guess it’s official we now have 2 adult children. I have a hard time viewing them that way just because their age says so! But wait, I already told you I don’t feel old enough for this, how can this be? Where did all the time go? Does this change everything? Yep. It does, in a way. But, it’s all good, right?
Katelyn Nicole was moving from the get go! She was never still in the womb. She wanted out & wasn’t wanting to wait! She’s a wiggler. Doesn’t want to feel trapped. Will let you know if she feels that way. She’s determined. Like her mother. She was a busy toddler too. She kept me on my toes. She wasn’t going to do anything until she was ready, either. Strong willed. That’s what Dr. Dobson called it…I read the book! I use to call her ‘my chunky cheek girl.’ She has since donned the nickname CC. Along with her other nickname, Katie Co.
Isn’t it funny how all of your children are so very different? Isn’t it that way in all families between all siblings? God didn’t want us to be boring! He definitely didn’t want us to be the same…take DNA for example!
Born on a Saturday. I’ll never forget. I think all mothers can say that! I was having a 2 day garage sale. On Friday, I felt like my water was trying to break…so I called the Doctor. He told me to wait. So I did. I went home and cleaned my house from top to bottom. I had energy like you’ve never seen! The next day about halfway through the day, I told the gal I was having the garage sale with that “it’s time.” I went to the hospital and 3 hours later here was Katelyn Nicole. She wasn’t messing around. I wasn’t either! I don’t have any horror stories of how long I was in labor. No, just a whole lot of back pain!
She plays softball. Sings in choir at her high school. Where she has one more year left. The picture above was taken about 2 years ago before one of her choir concerts. She wants to go into the field of Physical Therapy. I hope she chases her dreams.
Her name means pure. Sheer. Without unnecessary elements. {Sigh} Katie Co. Love you so much, girl! Have a happy, happy birthday!!!!
Shell
Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

