What I Learned Last Weekend

I haven’t blogged in a while. We took a long weekend last weekend. We rode our motorcycle to North Carolina, near Black Mountain. Very pretty. We spent that time at the Rally to Ridgecrest. You see what that’s about here. It was a wonderful weekend. Refreshing. Tiring. Eye opening.

This is us going down the road.

This is the view from our room.

This is the outside of one of the buildings at Ridgecrest. Where we stayed.

We had some free time…so we road to South Carolina!

Beautiful flowers outside!
People. Bikers are people too. You know we act like we’re different. But, we’re not. It doesn’t matter who we are or what social class we “fit” into or what we do for a living…the bottom line is that basically, we’re all the same…we have the same basic need as the one sitting or standing next to us. To be LOVED & ACCEPTED. That is it in a nut shell. We ALL want to FEEL LOVED & ACCEPTED! Our children all the way up to our elders. We may all LOOK different on the outside, but really we all just want to be LOVED & ACCEPTED! Every time we set out on the bike, we are dressed like bikers. We are also treated differently than we are when we encounter people in our “every day work clothes.” Interesting. I have to watch myself, because I become defensive instead of extending grace to those that “judge” me. I’ve learned that if I just give someone a chance & talk to them just like I would if I were dressed any other way…they relax & realize that I’m basically just like them!
Lesson I learned: Love all people, accept all people, be positive, don’t join the negative, extend grace & kindness…just see what happens!
Have you ever been treated differently because of the way you were dressed?
My brothers, show no partiality as you hold the faith in our Lord Jesus Christ, the Lord of glory. For if a man wearing a gold ring and fine clothing comes into your assembly, and a poor man in shabby clothing also comes in, and if you pay attention to the one who wears the fine clothing and say, “You sit here in a good place,” while you say to the poor man, “You stand over there,” or, “Sit down at my feet,” have you not then made distinctions among yourselves and become judges with evil thoughts?
James 2:1-4
Shell
Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

2 thoughts on “What I Learned Last Weekend”

  1. Oh man do I remember that! Its so true! You are right on sister…we are all the same and have the need to be loved & accepted. Thanks for the reminder. =)
    I love you
    Jen

    Like

  2. I stumbled across your blog and wanted to say hi.
    Take a minute an check my blog out if you haven't already.
    I have lots of great giveaways going on.
    Thanks 🙂

    ethertonphotography.blogspot.com

    Like

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

