Expectations

I’ve been thinking about this post for several days now. Do you remember a few weeks ago when I posted pictures of a bed I was making over? It’s all done!

I really had fun with this project. I’m proud of how it turned out.

This is definitely not a crafty blog or a do-it-yourself blog. This blog is no doubt about relationships. This project was clearly about a relationship that is very important to me. Yep, for me, this project had a much deeper purpose. More than just painting & doing what I love. I had motivations behind it. I had expectations. As you know, we’re a blended family. I shared how this bed was for our youngest who doesn’t live with us. So, I had to wait a few days before the “unveiling.” The suspense was killing me. I wanted to know if she liked it. I wanted her to be excited.
I think she was. I’m not quite sure. Maybe I expected too much of the whole situation. It’s so funny how when God is trying to teach me something He uses all kinds of ways to get His sweet voice to my heart. Someone said something in Sunday school about expectations. What are my expectations? Do I ever stop to ask myself that? Then I had an inbox devotion today about expectations. The following is a part of that devotion:
Expectations can be a difficult trap for each of us if we are not fully committed to God’s purposes in our lives.
 
Ouch!!!!!
 
The word expectation has been in my face for about a week now. Ok. I got it. I’m probably my own worst enemy when it comes to expectations. Although, I’m quite sure I’ve done some maturing in this area….I haven’t arrived! My self esteem is based on my performance & the acceptance of others. I set myself up. Every time. It’s no one’s fault, but my own. Relationships are tough enough, aren’t they, without expectations on top of it?
Today’s whisper from the Lord was in my inbox………..
 
She is so precious to me. She usually doesn’t have much to say, she’s quiet. I do hope she feels loved by me. I do hope she achieves all the dreams she dares to dream! I hope that when she’s older she will remember the encouragement I gave her & remember that I have always told her “can’t, never did anything!” I hope she remembers that I taught her to crochet & the times we get to crochet together. That I share her love for art. I look forward to every chance I get to show her how much I love her & to make new memories together!
Below is another view in her room. We always look forward to what she will draw next!
Do you struggle with high expectations in your relationships or do you find it easy to love expecting nothing in return?

Shell
Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

