Hold That Thought

I mentioned in a recent post about the comedian, Jeff Allen, that my husband & I saw this summer. We purchased his book & I’ve finished it. I recommend it!

As I was reading it there were several things that struck a chord with me. I certainly have no desire to ruin it for those of you that may read this one day. I can be a bystander…that’s what I’m drawn to do. While I’m not just like the author, I could definitely relate. This is what my dictionary defines a bystander as: a person who is present at an event or incident but does not take part. My definition: A wallflower!
 
The following is the first thing that jumped off the page at me…..
 
“Children have a way of bringing us to places where we don’t want to go. While we’re trying our hardest to properly raise them, they’re propelling us into our own maturity. It’s almost as if God used Ryan that day to tell me that it was time to start really seeing the events of life. It was time to shed some of my bystander ways and begin my journey to becoming one of life’s participants.”
 
It stopped me in my tracks. When I first picked it up, I had no intentions of underlining. This is normally how I read a book…with a pencil or pen. I thought this book would just be easy reading & make me laugh (which it did). But, it was more than that. So, I got my pencil out & made a curved line out to side.
Back to the quote from the book. Isn’t this so true? I can think of so many instances when this has been reality in my life. We don’t have room for ALL of them! I’ll share one.
She was in first grade at the time. I was about 23 or so. She asked me a question about sex. Oh my word, talk about stopping you in your tracks. Wait a minute, I thought I’d be ready for this. As I wrung my hands, I told her I would get back to her on that. I was telling her to hold that thought. Seriously? Yes, I’m not even kidding! I wasted no time. I went straight to the Christian Bookstore. Surely, there had to be a book about this. There was. I wish I still had it…just because it’s so funny to me now. I tend to do that…whenever I’m on a new path needing to learn something or know “how to”…I just go get a book. Digressing… Anyway, I purchased, How and When to Tell Your Kids About Sex. You can check it out here if you’re where I was about 15 years ago. I think they’ve updated it some…the cover looks different. Digressing again….
So, I got the book. Read it as fast as I could. Don’t think I didn’t have a pen, pencil AND a highlighter this time! When I felt ready (not too many weeks later) I sat her down, for “the talk.” I took a deep breath as she stared at me patiently with those innocent blue eyes, waiting. I reminded her of her question a few weeks back. Now, her face turned to confusion, but I pressed on. I proceeded to handle this the way the book taught me according to her age. I can’t even remember what I said, but when I finished my short little speech, she told me that’s not what she was asking me about. She had asked me something totally different. To this day I can’t remember what that was…I guess it was too traumatizing for us both…she doesn’t remember any of it! Thank God! I’ve since redeemed myself with conversations about numerous things, including sex, over the years!
Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it. Proverbs 22:6
 
Can you relate to the quote from the book?

Shell
Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

2 thoughts on “Hold That Thought”

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

