What Are You Craving?

For a long time I’ve been obsessed with diets. I always want to try the latest one. I’m drawn to the magazine covers that tout their latest idea of how to lose 10 pounds by the next holiday. You’ve seen them, they’re on the stands right now & next month it’ll be a new body & a new diet, but all with the same unreachable goal! Yes, I said unreachable. Sure, I’ve tried some of these & oh yes, they worked. But, only for a time, a moment. Women are constantly thinking about food & about their body shapes. If we aren’t right this minute…we will be after we’ve had the TV on for a few minutes or we walk past the magazine rack at the grocery store. We all have an emptiness that needs filling. We sometimes try to fill it, temporarily, with food.

As you know, I follow Lysa TerKeurst’s blog. She writes for Proverbs 31 Ministries. She’s just finished her latest book. It’s titled Made to Crave. It’ll be hot off the press in December.

This is taken from yesterday’s blog written by Holly Day….

We have found that so many of us feel overweight physically and underweight spiritually. And through this study she ties these two things together to show this can be one of our most significant journeys that we’ll ever take with God.
As she unpacks rich truths from the Bible, Lysa’s deepest desire is for women to understand that we were made for more. We were made to crave God, not food. And it is possible to quiet the daily battle in our minds.
There’s definitely a need inside of us, a craving. It started with Eve, didn’t it? That stinkin’ apple kept calling her name. Or so she thought! It was her craving for more of God, that she was really needing! She tried to fill it with an apple of all things!!!
The other day on one of Lysa’s blog posts I was reading the comments where someone posted this website….http://www.settingcaptivesfree.com/
Being the inquisitive one that I am…I clicked on it! I’m now on day 2 of The Lord’s Table online study! I feel like it’s a break through of what my heart is so hungry for! Some of you may be thinking, that’s ridiculous. You should, as a Christian, already know these things. Yes, I do. But, I need reminded. I need refocused. I need fulfilled. I believe this has come at a very timely place in my walk with the Lord. I’ve had to admit some things to myself & to my Heavenly Father. What a concept! Being honest with God & myself…try it, you may find you like it!
So, this is where I’m at.

Shell

Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

1 thought on “What Are You Craving?”

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

