Faith…Like a Child

As he gazed up into the cloudy blue grayish sky with eyes the same vivid color as it would be on a clear day. He says to me with a heavy heart and sigh, “I wish it would rain.” I answered agreeing that we need more rain like the rain we received the night before. We’ve been so dry for so long. Continuing his far away look into the sky he says with the purest of heart, “you know, we could ask God.” I was taken back by this & smiled largely when I responded, “yes, yes, we can pray.” Before I could even fathom the precious moment before me I watched as he turns in his seat slightly, bows his head & gently folds his hands. Speaking softly, he reverently begins to make his request of his Heavenly Father. “Dear God,” he begins….I couldn’t make all of his muffled words out because my heart was so touched. As my eyes filled with tears threatening to overflow, I pulled myself together quickly forcing myself to focus on the task at hand. Which is to deliver this precious child to his destination for the next 7 hours until we will meet again for the second half of the one hour a day we spend together.
This makes me stop and ask my heart, “do you have faith like a child?” My heart answers, “I so want to have the heart of a child…full of faith-nonjudgemental-care free-living in the moment-loving-kind!”
It’s the simple things. Like the heart of a young child so tender, so precious, so uninhibited by adult thinking, that touch my heart & soul at it’s very core.




When the chief priests and the scribes saw the wonders that He did and the children in the temple complex cheering, “Hosanna to the Son of David!” they were indignant and said to Him, “Do You hear what these [children] are saying?” “Yes,” Jesus told them. “Have you never read: You have prepared praise from the mouths of children and nursing infants ?” Matthew 21:15-16
“See that you don’t look down on one of these little ones, because I tell you that in heaven their angels continually view the face of My Father in heaven. Matthew 18:10
Some people were bringing little children to Him so He might touch them, but His disciples rebuked them. When Jesus saw it, He was indignant and said to them, “Let the little children come to Me. Don’t stop them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. I assure you: Whoever does not welcome the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” After taking them in His arms, He laid His hands on them and blessed them. Mark 10:13-16
If you like this post click here for a similar one.



Shell

Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

