Queen for a day…or more

I had a birthday a couple of weeks ago. It was nice. I always say I don’t much like celebrating my birthday, but I sure do like when my family makes me feel special & loved! Who doesn’t? It’s like being queen for a day. I had surprises over several days, not just on “the day.”

Saturday of the the weekend before we rode with some friends up to the Kersting’s Harley Davidson Museum in Judson, Indiana. We got a little wet early on, but we pressed on & it turned out to be a gorgeous day!

One of my favorites…an ice cream delivery motorcycle!
 
Can you imagine hailing a taxi & riding in this? What am I talking about….I’ve never even hailed a taxi!
We had lunch at the Wooden Nickel
Then on Sunday after church of that weekend, my wonderful husband took me on our motorcycle to ride up around Geist Reservoir in Indianapolis. We took a walk out on the boat docks & looked at the different kinds of toys. It was a gorgeous day. We rode around in the area looking at the million dollar homes.
We even stopped at an open house & toured a home that was on the market for over half a million. After all, as a Realtor I understand the importance of having people show up at your open house!
He took me to the Cheesecake Factory! I had always wanted to go there!
 
My oldest daughter treated me to a day at the spa the day before my birthday.
We had pedi’s, mani’s & a facial.
We had Panera Bread, which has become “our place.” We were dangerously close to being late for my afternoon bus route! She raced me back to town in her little yellow Beetle bug, named Lilly. I think we rode in on 2 wheels! I had flip flops on & my feet were slipping in them from the oil after my pedi, not good when you’re in a bit of a hurry!
My sweetheart surprised me with Strawberry Pizza from Almost Home for my birthday lunch dessert!

He gave me a dozen roses!

A little note tucked inside!
 
Look at this white one, oh so pretty!

I received jewelry from our youngest. A bracelet & a necklace! We wondered why she kept disappearing upstairs at little intervals throughout the day!
I feel so abundantly blessed. As is tradition for everyone else to get what they want made especially for their birthday dinner, it was for me too! It was difficult to keep my nose out of the kitchen. I was given strict orders to relax & be taken care of! Bless their hearts.

They had a few struggles, but you would never know it by the wonderful meal they made for me! In fact, the two oldest children that helped that day would like to do this for me again some time soon…I’m going to take them up on it! The meal featured my favorite grilled meats, chicken, pork & hot dogs. A few special pieces were grilled to perfection with just enough burn to my liking by my grill-master-husband! Also on the menu was salad, mashed potatoes (along with last minute microwave baked potatoes because there wasn’t going to be enough of the mashed kind) and biscuits. It was wonderful! I was being teased during dinner that I wasn’t going to get an angel food cake, just vanilla ice cream. Maybe even Hershey’s syrup, if we have any in the fridge, that is. I was completely fine with that. I did have thoughts inside that I would have liked something else, but still was feeling thoroughly blessed!
After dinner, my husband went out to his dad & mom’s truck to retreive something she was needing & he returned with a peach cobbler!!!

I love her peach cobbler…as they all know & knew that this surprise was waiting on me! It was wonderful, still warm! When we added the vanilla ice cream on top, it melted just enough to make my taste buds do the happy dance!!!
 
I received beautiful cards that each touched my heart in such a special way! Tear jerkers!

I will cherish each one of them…I’ll put them in a safe place for all my keepsakes with all the others!

Over this past weekend we were able to go get another gift for my birthday. I’m liking it a lot! I’ve used it twice since Saturday! I’m so looking forward to all the things I will be able to use it for!
You know, I don’t like a big fuss make over me. I don’t like attention. I especially don’t like all the eyes in the room on me. But I sure do like feeling special & loved by my family that is for sure. Even more than that, I love making each one of them to feel special & loved! These are the most important relationships to me, each one different from the other, but each one very important to me! Yes, my life & my relationships are far from perfect, but oh how very abundantly blessed I am!!!!
Shell
 
Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

1 thought on “Queen for a day…or more”

  1. You sure did get to be Queen of the Day. I smiled all the way thru reading this post. Thank you for stopping by Steadfast. Welcome aboard. I am looking forward to reading more of your posts, especially the ones about relationships. My latest one is about a huge family reunion…another nice story.
    Until next time, Rosemary

    Like

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

