Transparent or Authentic?

Today’s post is a reminder about a blog I contribute to. It’s our Women’s Ministry blog over on our church website. You can check it out here. I was quite transparent today…something I don’t always find easy to do. Transparency is something that I use to think was so over rated. But, there’s something healing about it. Refreshing. You don’t have to work at hiding your true self, struggles etc. I believe that’s where to start when attempting to connect with others. Hmmm, that’s probably why I struggle with connecting! I shy away from this concept, much less than I use to. Don’t get me wrong, I do think there’s a balance here. I’m not a fan of sharing your life history in the grocery store line! I think there’s definitely a time and a place!
In my mind transparency & authenticity are the same…until I read this blog. Certainly food for thought.
What are your thoughts on the whole transparency/authenticity thing? Do you find it easy? Do you struggle with those that do find it easy?
Have a terrific day!
Shell
Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

4 thoughts on “Transparent or Authentic?”

  1. Hi Shell! Thanks for posting on my blog!! I love it when someone new comments. :)…It's so funny that your post is about transparency. My new post is a little transparent for me. I'm not always comfortable with it, while at the same time I love sharing my life when I feel safe. I don't always feel safe to share. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hmmm…this is a good question. I don't really think transparency and authenticity are the same thing, but it is hard to articulate why in a brief statement. Actually, I think I am always authentic…it relates to being honest. But with transparency you can sometimes reveal too much, and that is something a person should be careful about 🙂

    Like

  3. I think whether you are transparent or not really depends on whether you have something to hide or not, I think so many of us wear a “mask” the real person we are , we often don't want to share.. thanks for the thought provoking blog.

    Like

  4. I think it's difficult to be transparent because it leaves you feeling so vulnerable. But I think that it's important as long as you are wise about it. Have a very merry Christmas!

    Like

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

