Good Intentions

Well, they had good intentions. We’ve all heard it before. I’ve even justified it myself. It’s the thought that counts. Really? Seriously? I beg to differ. I read a little Christmas story about how a young married couple were looking forward to their first Christmas together as husband & wife. They fantasized together about how it would all be…every detail. They had a meager budget, but planned to make it special. In the end after many struggles & catastrophes they realized it was the people that made it special. They almost missed it for all the good intentions. Have you ever spent time at some one’s house for a party or for Christmas or any other celebration & they were so busy preparing, so busy with good intentions that they tripped over their guests, their loved ones looking past them to all the perfect details. I have. I have been that person. I’ve noticed a wonderful thing about myself as I grow older each year. I’m not so worried about stuff. I’m not so worried about perfection. I’m not so worried about a fantasy dream world where everything is perfect. Life is getting shorter & shorter….going by faster & faster.
 
 
I want to cherish the people I get to spend time with. I want to cherish the moments, the memories. I want to be deliberate. Not intend for them to feel special by the things or gifts I did to prepare. No, good intentions aren’t going to rob me. I’m NOT going to find myself saying…”I wish I would have sat down for a while & enjoyed the lives that are a part of my life….”

It goes back to that longing for simplicity. All the hustle & bustle wears me out & not just physically either. For our Christmas Dinner we are baking a ham…which my husband takes care of & does a delicious job!! We aren’t going crazy with the rest. It’ll be finger foods. This keeps me out of the kitchen the entire day & enables all of us to spend time together…which is the most important thing!!! I pray you & your family has a wonderfully blessed Christmas. That He will make His face shine upon you. That you & your family will look past all the imperfections & fantasy born expectations & see each other, cherishing one another!

{all images from Google}
Shell
Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

2 thoughts on “Good Intentions”

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

