A Moment in Time

This was my situation…..

There are times when we have short relationships.  I’m talking minutes.  Like the one I formed with a young couple a little over a week ago. They happened to be right behind me. It was one of those slow motion kind of movies that you can’t pause no matter how hard you try!  Ok,  rewind only minutes earlier…….I’m SLOWLY traveling down the curvy back roads trying to make my way home when I witnessed three vehicles off in ditches, neither one related to the other.   I was proudly saying to myself that I wasn’t going to be in the same “boat” as them because I’m driving like I’ve got some sense! Funny how we can “eat our own words” so quickly!  Now fast forward…..

only minutes, mind you!  How can this be? I was  not even going fast, even a little bit fast! Why is it that as soon as I started sliding that I couldn’t grasp in my mind what I was trying to remember about turning your wheels this way or that way if you begin to slide. I learned later that some of that information may have helped if I would have taken my foot off the brake! All I could see (in slow motion) was the pole I was headed toward & since I knew my car wasn’t listening to me about making the curve….I just wanted to STOP…PLEASE! But, NOOOOOO! I just gracefully dolloped right into the ditch!  But, my hinny was NOT gracefully positioned!

I was quite thankful that my new friends insisted that I sit in their warm car until my husband was able to come & rescue me! I can’t even remember both their names. We learned some tidbits about one another, but probably will never see each another again, who knows? It is a small world we live in. They even told me their address, but I can only remember the street. I so want to send them a Thank You card. I’m still trying to come up with something so I can follow through with that task! We were quite the show for those passing by & had numerous concerned people stop & ask if we were ok….after all, it looked much worse than it was! As you might understand, I was a little shaken up, but as soon as my hero came, he pulled me out & we were on our way again, no physical damage done to me or my little car who decided to try skating without even asking about it first!
It was just a moment in time, but I would venture to say that neither this young couple, my wonderful husband, the guy who put his truck in the ditch (because he was busy looking at my car) & myself are no longer driving through that stretch of road without remembering that day! 
Anyway,  I say all of that to say….Oh the lessons we learn!  As I passed by those others that were in the ditch (they all had help with them or I would have stopped) I had attitude…not the right kind. I had a hands-on-my-hips-wagging-my-finger-momma attitude saying ‘now look what you’ve gone and done!’  Only to find myself minutes later in the same predicament.  Hmmm….I certainly wasn’t doing what I thought those others were doing to get themselves in trouble…could it be that they weren’t driving fast either?  Thank you, Lord, AGAIN, for reminding me to check my attitude!  I should have been praying for those people instead of wagging my attitude at them!  There, but for the grace of God, go I!!!!!!

Do not neglect to do good and to share what you have, for such sacrifices are pleasing to God.  Hebrews 13:16

Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.  Philippians 2:4

Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.  Galatians 6:2



Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

5 thoughts on “A Moment in Time”

  1. Oh no! I'm glad you're okay! What a blessing that couple was!

    I feel like if I had a dollar for every time I judged someone for something I ended up doing not long thereafter, I'd be able to pay the rest of my university expenses and then some. Thanks be for His grace! He gives us second, third, 28582945029835th chances, even when we don't deserve them.

    Like

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

