Conversations on the Short Bus

Now that you know what “I do,”  you’ll see where I get some of my thoughts to write about!  I am blessed to be able to drive the short bus, seriously!  I often tell people that the big negative   about it for me is the weather!
I get to have conversations with young people ranging in physical age from 5 to 18.  They make me smile every single day.  We have a video recorder going at all times & I can imagine if you were able to plug in, you’d smile everyday too!
I’ve talked about Conner before, click here to read about that.
Yesterday, was a pretty typical afternoon.  I kept hearing my name being called out.  I said, “Conner, is that you calling for me?”  He said, “no, it’s your conscious calling,” in only his Conner like way of communicating.  This tickled me…I didn’t expect it!  As he moves from one subject to another he begins to tell me a joke.  “Knock-knock”  he begins & I answer, “Who’s there?”  “Banana.”  “Banana, who?”  I can’t tell you how the rest went, I couldn’t understand, but I laughed.  He has a contagious giggle & since that is one of my favorite sounds, I can’t help but join in!  He tells another knock-knock joke about an orange, same thing at the end…I’m not sure what happens!

He goes on to say that he wants to be a storyteller when he grows up because he’s so good at it.  He knows this because I laugh at his jokes.  He thinks it’s wonderful that I think he’s funny & I like to hear his jokes!  Some of the other children join in telling me what they want to be when they grow up.  I heard doctor among many other things.  It’s hard to completely hear everything with all the other noises that compete for our attention.

Conner goes on to tell me that he wants to be just like his dad when he grows up.  He told me his dad used to work for the army.  His father gave him the hard hat that he use to wear.

As we’re driving along, Conner rarely misses anything going on inside or outside the bus.  He notices a cattle truck passing by & tells me he knows that it has animals in it.  I ask him what he thinks is in it.  He very seriously tells me that it’s either an elephant or a gorilla.  I’m on board with that…it could be!

It’s wonderful to hear things that are on their minds.  It really is a great couple hours a day to get to be friends with 12 wonderfully & fearfully made children!

This morning we couldn’t help but notice the beautiful sunrise and name all the colors the sky was.  After school Conner asked me to turn up the radio because a “sad” song was on.  I repeated to him & asked, “a sad song?”  he said, “no, a sad song.”  I said, “oh, ok.”  Still not knowing what kind of song it was.  I turned it up.  He was singing it word for word…again in his own language.  When I realized what song it was, I joined in too!

I’m building a relationship with these kids.  Albeit in a limited yellow cube on wheels!  It’s funny to see them out in the community because it takes them a little longer to recognize me because I’m not sitting behind the wheel!

Do you have relationships similar to this throughout your day?  I’d love to hear about them!

  

Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

2 thoughts on “Conversations on the Short Bus”

  1. this is such a sweet post… i smiled all the way through. not because of the story, but b/c of the joy with which you tell it. i can tell you love what you do-i'm sure those young'uns do, too. kudos to you! it reminds me of the itstartswith.us organization. … we come in touch w about 50 people a day(you-more!), and then they come in touch w about 50 people a day. if we can affect each one of our 50, w a positive attitude, a gift of love or joy through disposition, and then they do the same to the 50 they come in contact w … and look! you are changing the world! 🙂
    keep changing the world, friend… love 2 u! happy valentine's day!

    Like

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

