Generational Differences?



Smug Mug Photo
I am forty-something.  When I was twenty-something I thought forty-somethings were old.  Couldn’t possibly know as much as I do.   Now.  My thinking is different.  I’ve learned so much in the past 20 some odd years.  Gone through stuff that didn’t kill me.  Learned to appreciate more.  Realizing it’s not about me.   I can imagine that the sixty-somethings look at me & think that I still have a lot to learn.  Unlike my younger days of knowing it all, I agree with them.  I was talking with a couple of women the other day about our moms.  Our children.  Our relationships with them.  It’s crazy how things come full circle.  We’re each at a place where we don’t exactly have that perfect relationship with our moms or
our children & realizing that this is reality.   Why is this?  Does this have to be?  I want to fight this.  I understand that there is a difference between generations.  There is a different way of thinking.  So, I’m coming to accept this.  To know that it can’t be changed.  So why keep fighting?  Why not agree to disagree?  Why not look past the differences?  How do you handle the generational differences in your relationships?     
I posted this on our church blog last week.  It’s a question I believe we should all ask ourselves.  
Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

