"I Don’t Like People"

google image
“I don’t like people.” I’m quoting one of our children. We’ve been hearing this a lot lately. Maybe it’s a phase? Personality? Laziness? An excuse? I’m not sure. One thing I do know, is that it causes me to reflect on my own attitude when I was a teenager. In fact, when I hear this it reminds me of myself & makes me sad. Sad that I still struggle with the temptation to have the same attitude. Sad that we have a child with this attitude. My husband told me…..


about a podcast he’d listened to the other day that I want to bring up in conversation the next time we hear the above revelation. He said that he was reminded that we were ALL made in the image of God. We are ALL loved by HIM. ALL of us. ALL of those people we don’t like. ALL of the ones who rub us the wrong way. ALL. Not to mention the fact that people are a part of our lives. Every day. We can’t get away from it. From each other! We need to be able to relate to people. ALL people that cross our paths. I want to be an example of loving ALL people.  An example of the character it takes to look past the differences & leave those differences up to God.  To actually like people!   


“So God created man in His own image; He created him in the image of God; He created them male and female.”  Genesis 1:27
“For God loved the world [ALL people] in this way: He gave His One and Only  Son,  so that everyone who believes in Him will not perish but have eternal life.”  John 3:16

Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

1 thought on “"I Don’t Like People"”

  1. I've said those same words about not liking people many times … even as an adult … even when I was a missionary. I finally realized I was an introvert living an extrovert's life! The book, _The Introvert Advantage_, really helped me accept my personality (my God-given personality) and learn coping skills so that when I needed to play the extrovert, I could do so graciously. Maybe that would help you or your child? (Thanks for stopping by via Ann's blog.)

    Like

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

