Trusting

I’m tired.  No.  Drained.  We’ve been preparing for Courtney to leave for her 11 month journey to 11 countries.  I left her in God’s hands at the airport.  As if she was in my hands all this time.  As I sit here with tears stained on my face & spots on my glasses from crying all the way back home, I realize that it was sort of symbolic.  I have to continually give my children back to the Lord.  They belong to Him.  They are a gift.  One for me to be a steward of, but never just mine.  In the back of my memory I’m reminded of “Finding Nemo” where one of the characters says…“mine, mine, mine.”  Sometimes as parents we want to selfishly ‘keep’ them all to ourselves, maybe even
deceiving ourselves that we can.  I’m excited for her & the journey out in front of her.  God knew we would be here today.  He knew even before she was born.  Before she was a thought in my mind.  I remember crying all the way home from dropping her off for the first day of school.  The letting go process started way back before that day even.  The tears are starting again.  Lord, will she remember everything we taught her?  Will she make wise decisions?  Will you protect her?  Will she seek you?  Will you hold her in your hands?  Will you provide for her?  He answers ever so gently, “It’s all good, my child.  I’ve got this.  I’ve also got this child, of mine, too.  Trust Me.”


Trust in the Lord with all your heart & lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to Him & He will make your path straight.  Proverbs 3:5-6

Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

3 thoughts on “Trusting”

  1. what a beautiful thing she is doing, and keep the faith… this is one of life's hardest tasks, i'm sure… letting them go out into the world, preschool or mission.

    Like

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

