I’m Not Pretty Enough To Be Her Friend

Has this thought ever crossed your mind?  It has mine.  You could take out pretty and insert just about any word.  You could take out her and put him there if you’re a guy.  I believe we all have something we could put in that space.  Or have had in the past.  There are some things I still struggle with even though the teenage years are long since gone.  I suppose that’s when they were at their highest.  Or maybe, you’re on the other side of that (not out loud of course) in your mind saying you’re not pretty enough to be my friend.  It’s the craziest thing to judge people by their looks, wallet, job, social status, occupation, marital status, body odor, etc. etc.  But we do, don’t we?  We hold ourselves to those judgements telling ourselves we can’t pursue a friendship with someone “different” than us.  Aren’t we all different?  Don’t we all have different DNA’s.  Fingerprints?  Personalities?  Looks?  Jobs?  etc. etc. Yes!  Yes!  Yes!  So then, why oh why do we allow those nasty thoughts to creep into our minds and take root down in our heart?  Because we allow others’ careless words in.  We allow rejections to offend.  Because we haven’t allowed our Heavenly Father’s love to take root in our hearts so completely to believe it fully.  He created us.  He loves us so perfectly.  You ARE pretty enough. You ARE _________enough.

I pray that you … may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long

and high and deep is the love of Christ (Ephesians 3:17-19).

Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

