Chevron Turquoise Painted Table

I’ve already gotten rave reviews over this table from my family!  I love how it turned out.  In fact, my goal from the beginning was to paint it & then sell it in our upcoming yard sale.  I’m so tempted to keep it for myself, but have absolutely no where to put it!  Besides, if I ever reach my goal of having my own business re-doing & re-selling furniture pieces I can’t keep all my projects!  I knew I wanted to paint this table turquoise, but didn’t have any turquoise paint.  So, I took some paint I already had (grass green & pale blue) and mixed until I reached what I liked.

The table was free….doing good on the cost already! I painted the base layer.  It was dry to the touch in a couple hours so I proceeded to add my painter’s tape according to the directions I found on another blog.  

Then I began to paint my white paint.  I was so excited & way way to impatient to see the finished project.  So I began to peel back the paint immediately!  It was all a big mistake!  I should have waited at least a day for the base coat to dry before adding the tape.  As I began to take off the tape it was also taking off my paint….all the way back down to the wood!  Sad day.  
I didn’t learn my lesson then either.  I tried to just take off what had peeled & “redo” the base coat.  Well then you could see the impression of it under the paint….sort of like I painted over chipped paint….duh!  Alright girl, come on get your act together…..it’s time to take this puppy back down to the beginning & start over!  I scrapped & sanded it all the way back down to smooth bare wood & proceeded to commence on this project the way it should have been done from the beginning!  If I could get one lesson in life….it would be to SLOW DOWN!  
Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

1 thought on “Chevron Turquoise Painted Table”

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

