Number Painted Flower Pots

I love having plants in my kitchen window.  My husband made & installed the window sill shelf for me by request 🙂  The plain clay pots weren’t thrilling us so I added some paint (which wasn’t easy to do when there are already plants in them).  

I have a little sample size gray paint that I bought for another project, but knew there be more than enough to be used on other projects too. So that’s what I used to paint the pots.  I then chose a font I liked for the numbers 1, 2 & 3 which happens to be called Broadcast.  Remembering some advice I’d seen on Pinterest I printed the numbers backwards.  I took a pencil & “colored over” the number on the backward printed side making sure to keep inside the lines & getting every curve, corner & line edge.  I then placed the paper over the pot (now penciled in on print side facing pot) adjusting it to be where I wanted it & then took my pencil again without caring where I marked this time because I’m just trying to get the pencil on the other side to transfer to the pot so I will have a pattern to fill in with paint.  I scribbled until I knew I’d covered it all.  After removing the paper I chose a thin small brush (which ended up really not being small enough) to fill in the number with dark brown acrylic paint.  
I think they turned out great, don’t you?  They definitely have the “hand painted” look.  In the past I’ve even taken a razor knife & cut the number out to make a stencil.  So, either way whatever the look you’re going for.     

Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

