Are You Known?

We all want to be known. AND accepted.
Known and accepted.

Even just for sake of knowing who you are…no one likes to be called by the wrong name.

Think about this: do you frequent places where you’re not accepted? Probably not for very long. And when you do frequent a place don’t you expect, at some point in the near future, to be known? At least on some level? Even just for sake of knowing who you are…no one likes to be called by the wrong name. Some of us, speaking as an introvert, are screaming inside to be known & accepted, yet holding up any barrier we can get our hands on to keep it from happening. Maybe this isn’t an issue for you. For me, it is an issue, I don’t reveal my true self to just anyone. In fact, I believe it’s good practice not to do this with everyone…that tends to not be in your best interest. I do, however, think we should  have a handful (or at least one) that we can be real with. Jesus did.

Christianity is about a relationship. A relationship with Jesus. Which in turn makes us part of the family of God where we have relationships that we can sharpen one another, disciple one another be in community with one another.

Have you connected with your family of God? Are you known by them? Or are your relationships with other Christians just a talk-about-the-weather kinda friendship on Sunday mornings? Do you know anything beyond the surface about one another?

I know it’s hard. I know it can be a stretch to allow yourself to be known. To be real. To be transparent. Believe me. I know. I can certainly count on half a hand the people I’ve let peel back the layers and really know me. (family excluded, of course).

Thank you for your constant grace. Encouragement. Acceptance.

Shout out to the women who I meet with every Friday morning for coffee, who have accepted me and are in the process of really knowing me. Thank you! You have no idea what you mean to me. Thank you for your constant grace. Encouragement. Acceptance. You truly are the picture of godly friendship. Discipleship. It doesn’t come easy for me to let you in. It’s been joked about me and my bubble of “protection.” You have gained access to the inner bubble…shocking, I know! Thank you for being patient as each layer gets revealed. (Jean you were missed this morning!)

Man or woman, I encourage you today to get connected somewhere in the body. It’s vital for your growth. You absolutely can not do it alone. We weren’t meant to do it alone. Don’t be like me and waste too many years wearing a mask to church every Sunday pretending that you don’t need anyone. Pretending that you don’t want to be known & accepted. You may think you’re hiding back there, but you’re not…we all have that very same need to be known and accepted.

Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

