Why Here? Why Now, God?

Three things Esther did when faced with these very questions.

For such a time as this. What comes to mind when you hear that phrase? We are looking at the book of Esther in our Sunday School class. This phrase just keeps swirling in my mind. Why here? Why now, God? What’s your plan? Why am I a part of it? Questions. I have a lot of questions. The answers aren’t presenting themselves so easily. They tease. They show little glimmers, but never their whole. There’s not been an aha moment just yet.

Why Here

Yet, it all intertwines doesn’t it? All of it. Every area of our lives. The Sunday School lesson. The sermon. The message in the music. The radio. Our connection groups. What we’re reading in the Bible. Our seemingly insignificant conversations with others. God is speaking through all of these to get our attention. As I write these words I’m listening to soundtrack from The Shack movie. I typically can’t do both, it usually proves to be too difficult for me to concentrate. I keep getting pulled in by the words of each song. The Holy Spirit is speaking to my heart through these songs.

I especially like Heaven Knows – Hillsong and Keep Your Eyes On Me – Tim McGraw and Faith Hill. In my opinion, they’re hands down the two best songs on the soundtrack. Have you listened to it? Which are your favorite? Has any spoken to you like they have me?

Keep your eyes on me-2

You want to know why you’re where you are? Why something happened back then? Why you wait here in this place, in this moment? Then pour yourself into His Word. Bathe in it. Consume it like you’re starving and ravenous. Because you are. There’s a hunger that was built into us when we were shaped together by the Hand of God. A hunger that only He can fill. A hunger that can’t be satisfied with anything else. Anyone else. A missing piece of the puzzle that only He fits.

You know we really do make time for the things that we want. Whether it be looking at the screen of our phone for hours a day, the endless buffet of television or whatever it is that consumes our time. It would probably shock us if we realized just how much time we really do spend in the mindless tunnel of the screen.

Back to Esther. Are you willing to seek God even though He seems no where to be found? When Esther’s eunuchs and female attendants came and told her about Mordecai, she was in great distress. Esther 4:4

Are you willing to realize and accept the role in the plan God has for you, even if you don’t understand? And who knows but that you have come to your royal position for such a time as this? Esther 4:14

And probably the hardest one of all; are you willing to welcome the uncertainty of God’s purpose for you? Go, gather together all the Jews who are in Susa, and fast for me. Do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. I and my attendants will fast as you do. When this is done, I will go to the king, even though it is against the law. And if I perish, I perish. Esther 4:16-17

I haven’t done an extensive study in the book of Esther. I’ve read it. And we’ve discussed part of it in Sunday School. These three things she did came from that discussion and the Gospel Project Study. Esther was willing to seek God. She welcomed and accepted His role for her even though it was a risk. Lord, may I be found with a heart like Esther.

Three things Esther did when faced with the questions Why Here? Why Now, God? MRS designs

Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

