How to Pray

Help for those that have struggled with prayer.

Do you pray? Do you find yourself wondering if you’re doing it right? Do you make spending time with your Savior a priority? You may think these are strange questions to ask a Christian. Maybe even a little forward. No worries, I’m not really wanting you to tell me. No, my goal today is to share with you what I was reminded of in Sunday School and of course, my take away; in hopes that you’ll be honest with yourself too.

I was reminded not only of the obvious importance of prayer in my relationship with Christ, but how important it is in my relationships with others. It’s pretty easy to grasp the first part of this reminder, but I think the latter is one we may not even consider.

I have personally had my ups and downs when it comes to prayer over the course of my relationship with Christ. I remember back in the beginning how being constant in prayer didn’t take any effort at all, in fact, it came naturally.

CONSTANT IN PRAYER MRS DESIGNS

Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. Romans 12:12

Then I found myself becoming too comfortable and soon prayer took a back seat and was only the first thought when something was going wrong in my life. When helplessness was my state of mind. As sad as this was a reality for me then, I’m blessed that He has continued to pursue me and over the years I’ve realized that it is natural to pray constantly as a child of God.  We may not have the perfect formula or the most flowery of words when we have a conversation with Him, but one thing I know for sure is that He knows our hearts. He loves us. He wants to have a conversation with us. He wants to speak to us.

I know it may sound crazy to some people when I say He wants to speak to us. Although, I’ve never heard God’s voice audibly, I sure have had thoughts drop right into my heart when I’m praying. The Holy Spirit has reminded me of many things. In fact, prayer has changed my heart. Changed my mind. Changed the way I view that person who____________. You’ve got one in your life, I know you do, we all do. Praying for them is the answer.

Lock Screen Love your enemies MRS designs

But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you. Matthew 5:44

It bears repeating. Prayer is of utmost importance in our relationship with Christ. And in our relationships with others. Whether these relationships are hard or not.

Years ago, I was given an acronym for praying. Although, I’m not a fan of formulas, I do believe this will help anyone who may be struggling…I know it sure has helped me in the past. In fact, it’s  a habit for me now.

How to Pray MRS designs

The acronym is ACTS. Let me share it with you.

A – Adoration.

(deep love and respect; worship)

Acknowledging that He is Lord over everything. He owns it all. He’s in control. He is the creator. Giving Him praise and honor. “Exalt the LORD our God and worship at his holy mountain, for the LORD our God is holy.”  -Psalm 99:9

C – Confession.

(a statement admitting that one is guilty of wrong doing)

Being honest and specific with him about sin and dealing with it. Thanking Him for forgiveness. “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.”  -1 John 1:9

T – Thanksgiving.

(the expression of gratitude, especially to God)

Tell Him what you’re grateful for. Again specifically. Thank Him for being constant in your life. For His still small voice. “I will give you thanks, for you answered me; you have become my salvation.” – Psalm 118:21

S – Supplication. 

(the action of asking or begging for something  or someone earnestly or humbly)

ACTS an acronym for prayer MRS designs

This is when you begin to pray for others. For yourself. No matter how small or insignificant you may think it is.  “Make your requests known to God.” -Philippians 4:6

I realize the subject of prayer can go way beyond what I’ve shared today, but let this be a spring board for you. Seek Him in prayer about this very subject. Ask Him to show you things. Teach you. Dig into His Word and learn more for yourself. I’m confident He’ll show you. Take a look at Nehemiah. That’s the book we were looking at in Sunday School.

Taken from the Gospel Project Volume 6, Session 9 – …we are introduced to Nehemiah, who cried out to God in prayer on behalf of his people for God to restore them… we are reminded that we follow a God who forgives and redeems and who supplies whatever we need to accomplish His purposes… we pray and act with confidence in His promise.

Here’s a lock screen that you can save to your phone to help you remember.

Lock Screen for ACTS acronym MRS designs

Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

1 thought on “How to Pray”

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

