An Identity Crisis

How to get off that runaway train.

As I ride this runaway train at full speed barreling down on a new decade I’m wrestling with the nagging and gnawing  of a question that demands to be answered. Even though I already know the answer. It heckles at me as if there’s another answer. Because the one I offer doesn’t seem to satisfy.

Identity how to get off the runaway train MRS designs

So, yeah, identity. Another Sunday School subject to get my mind’s wires to light up and never seems to have a disruption in its surge.

Identity. What comes to mind when you hear this word? Well, if you’re a man maybe you think of things like job, wife, children etc. If you’re a woman maybe you think of similar things? Whatever the case may be, I was reminded that this is a constant search for us and that it’s normal. Phew. What a relief. I thought I was the only one who thought about this. The only one who didn’t have it all figured out at a certain point in my life. We grow. We change. We mature. Therefore, the question comes up naturally as we move through life. Again, phew. What. A. Relief.

You are normal MRS designs

So, yeah, identity. You’re okay. You’re doing just fine if you’re evaluating your identity. Why? Because it brings us back to reality. To check ourselves. Where are you right now in your relationship with Christ? Where are you headed? Everything about us, what we do, where we go, the decisions we make, the daily choices all point back to  who we are. Don’t let the question of identity become a crisis, instead embrace it. Bring it before your sweet Savior. He wove you together. He knows everything about you. He knows what He had in mind for you from before your very first breath

How to Stop that Identity Crisis

Consider the following truths about identity.

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart.”  Jeremiah 1:5

  • God says, “I knew you.”

But even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Matthew 10:30

  • Your hairs are all numbered. ALL of them!

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come. 2 Corinthians 5:17

  • You’re a NEW creation.

Nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:39

  • NOTHING can separate you from God’s love.

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. Galatians 2:20

  • Christ lives IN you. He GAVE Himself for you.

Even the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, for he dwells with you and will be in you. John 14:17

  • He DWELLS with you.

Truths about IdentityAs you seek Christ about who you are remember these verses. Pray through them asking Him to show you a clearer picture of who you are. Who you are in Him. What His plan and purpose are for you. He will show you. He will clarify any doubts and answer those nagging questions. Rest in Him. Knowing He’s got this. He’s got you. He knows exactly who you are. Your name. The number of hairs on your head. Your very purpose. Let His truths seep into your heart and mind. Let His word be the subject that gets your mind’s wires (boxes for men lol) to light up with no disruptions.

Lock Screen If anyone is in Christ MRS designs

Here’s a free lock screen for you to enjoy.

Author: Michelle

I'm Michelle. A Child of the King. A dreamer. My first love, Jesus, is who I want to reflect in my life more than anything. I'm also a determined artist on a quest to learn as much as I can about graphic design, hand lettering & all things creative. It's here where my love for Jesus & all things creative come together in only a way that God can orchestrate.

3 thoughts on “An Identity Crisis”

  1. Love your posts! Love rethinking through our class and seeing how God has spoken to you! You have such a gift for writing! Thank you for sharing your gift!

    Like

Thank you for your comments! I will treat them like the precious gift they are!

